Mali (english)

Mali, officially the Republic of Mali, is a landlocked country in West Africa. Mali borders Mauretania and Algeria in the north, Niger in the east, Burkina Faso and Côte d’Ivoire in the south, Guinea in the south-west and Senegal in the west.

Mali is the eighth-largest country in Africa, with an area of just over 1,240,000 square kilometres. The population of Mali is 14.5 million. Its capital is Bamako.

Mali consists of eight regions and its borders on the north reach deep into the middle of the Sahara Desert where only few people live. The country’s southern part, where the majority of inhabitants live, features the Niger and Senegal rivers.